ill probably need to explain the blog name

When I say ‘mindful monsters’ the first thing that pops into my head isn’t actually the meaning behind the name. Which is my round about way of saying, I liked it, so I picked it.

Nah just kidding. I’m super deep and meaningful really. I picked ‘mindful monsters’ because 1) I obviously have problems that need to be addressed pronto (by this blog not by a professional, don’t worry, I’ve got this) and 2) I’m kinda sorta maybe getting a tiny bit pissed off at all the keyboard warriors taking a swing in the general direction of the mental health taboo topic. In all seriousness, I’m really surprised at how many people (those suffering from mental illness not excluded) are so quick to make judgements of others. Maybe I’m just a super-mushy-all-the-feels kind of person, but I like to give people the benefit of the doubt – in this case a shit tonne of empathy.

I don’t really get the whole “oh you’ve got this mental health problem but for reasons 1, 2 and 3 it should not define your life or your relationships”. Even worse? “You’re letting yourself be your mental illness”. Um, dude, hello?! That’s kind of the definition of a mental health problem. Oh my god If I have to write mental health one more time I might just self-combust (from here on in we shall use ‘mh’). I’m mainly pissy about it because someone recently told me there view on mh (close friend, also has mh problems)  and it covered the above ideas, which is so narrow-minded. This is where the fun starts in the spaghetti junction of my mind because I empathise greatly with the issues said friend has and understand that this changes the development of certain feelings and opinions but it is incredibly hard to distinguish (for anyone who has a personality disorder) the mh from the actual personality. That’s actually kind of a paradox (wrong use of the word but I like it so) really if you think about it.

So anyway, I don’t want to come across as a dick for saying “hey your opinion and the way you talk about mh offends me” especially if said person would find that difficult to deal with or conversely, find it incredibly offensive themselves. So you see, beautiful shiny internet worm, I’m a little bit spaghetti-o’d in the headio’d. Yes I did just say that, I’m pretty surprised you made it this far really. It’s a load of mush and plasticy-keys and words. If anything this blog is for me because I recently realised that I want somewhere to vent, anonymously, about life and all the associated shits and gigs (I hate that, let’s never say that again).

A fair few of my posts will be outpourings of feeling and/or rants that won’t follow the tangent or style of this post but I just wanted any of those random bots floating around (checking if this is indeed a page) to know that I’m a pretty great, cool and totally awesome chick. I’m gruel. If you don’t get that reference that is probably a pretty big sign that you should leave and never come back. It’s about to get weird.

TL;DR Mindful monsters = people that think they’re being mindful but are really toe-stomping dicktwots that need a reality check.

OR. If you don’t like that (because you’re the mindful monster) then take it as referring to those mindful of others’ mental struggles i.e. monsters.

Leave a Reply

