Deciding what to do when everything seems like a great idea

When you are a decidedly creative person with high functioning issues it can become very difficult to decide what the next best thing to do is. You end up wanting to paint a picture, write a book, start a business and win the lottery all at the same time. (The last one is obviously not going to happen but we can all dream. Unless you’re me in which case you actually plan your life out for once you’ve won big). 

I’m currently trying to start a novel but also extremely preoccupied with buying a house, getting a new job and starting a business to help other people like me who suffer from separation anxiety and GAD (general anxiety disorder). For me, when I hit this stage of not-knowing-what-to-do-ness I end up making very bad decisions for myself. Like the £55 teddy bear I bought at the weekend… And deciding I want to buy a van to convert and live in to avoid having to save for my own house for a while… It’s all a little overwhelming to say the least.

I find it very helpful to write lists which order the things I need to do in chronological order. When i say chronological I mean tasks that have to be done that day first so; washing up, getting dressed, walk the dog etc. then tasks I’d like to try and achieve that day; eat a healthy breakfast, write a chapter of my book, finishing that painting. My boyfriend introduced me to this technique and was super cute about it too, which always helps. My main problem is that I want to do all of these things at the same time and when I finally sit down to do one I can’t stop thinking about the other things I’m not doing but want to be doing IMMEDIATELY.

I guess it’s just a case of learning to manage it, but here I am – being creative in the form of a blog post that has no real order or train of thought because I’m wishing I was a millionaire that wrote books for a living. FML.

Leave a Reply

